Mental Health and Medications

I was diagnosed with my mental illnesses almost 10 years ago. Since then, I have tried several different medications that have worked for varying amounts of time, if at all. I am sharing my experiences with several of these medications with you today.

Lexapro

  • For: Depression
  • Dosage: 10mg- 30mg
  • Duration: almost 9 years
  • Side Effects: weight gain, fatigue
  • Why I Stopped: It stopped working. I was having mental breakdowns while my family was on the only vacation we had planned for that year. We went home one night early and it was only a two night trip.
  • Withdrawal: Little to none because it felt like the Lexapro wasn’t helping anyways.

Vyvanse

  • For: ADD/ADHD
  • Dosage: 10mg -50mg
  • Duration: 6 years
  • Side Effects: heart palpitations (flutters), hyperfocusing
  • Why I Stopped: It was supposed to help me focus, and it did. I hyperfocused, mostly on schoolwork. I had great grades, but did little of anything else. About 4 years after starting on it, I had a heart palpitation. As they became more constant, I mentioned it to my doctor, but I had to ween myself off of it because they wouldn’t. Upon talking to a different doctor when I thought about restarting it, she told me the dose I had been on could have stopped my heart.
  • Withdrawal: Tapered down dosage and then stopped all together, little to no side effects.

Wellbutrin

  • For: Depression (to help the Lexapro be more effetive)
  • Dosage: 150mg- 300 mg
  • Duration: about 4 years
  • Side Effects: None that I know of
  • Why I Stopped: It did nothing! It didn’t help with my depression or make the Lexapro any more effective.
  • Withdrawal: Do not remember any withdrawal effects.

Zoloft

  • For: Depression
  • Dosage: 25mg – 50mg
  • Duration: 4.5 months
  • Side Effects: Chronic fatigue, napping all the time
  • Why I Stopped: All I would want to do was sleep. I would even “fade” in class and end up with notes that were illegible. As a full time student, that is not good.
  • Withdrawal: Little to none, felt some of my energy return.

Effexor

  • For: Depression and Anxiety
  • Dosage: 37.5mg -75mg
  • Duration: 5 months
  • Side Effects: Thoughts of self harm
  • Why I Stopped: I was thinking about hurting myself a lot. I never acted upon it, but having these thoughts nearly everyday scared me. It was much worse on the 75mg dose than the 37.5mg dose.
  • Withdrawal: Terrible headaches, dizziness, and brain fog for 5 days, but some people experience these symptoms for months.

Seralax     *Seralax is a natural herbal supplement that I ordered online that claims to                           help with depression and anxiety.

  • For: Depression and Anxiety
  • Dosage: 2 capsules a day, but I usually only took 1 in the mornings
  • Duration: 3 weeks
  • Side Effects: Slight stomach upset
  • Why I Stopped: Stomach upset had been getting worse for the past few days. Did not notice a significant difference in mood when I am on it versus when I am off it.
  • Withdrawal: None, it is just to enhance mood.

This is just a short list of the medications I have been on, for I can’t remember every single medication I have tried. These are the ones that either didn’t work or caused memorable side effects.

Currently, I am taking Fish Oil Supplements (helped speed up the Effexor withdrawal), Vitamin D3, and a Vitamin B Complex. These supplements have helped to curb most of my depression, but they do not always help.

I am still searching for something that will help to reduce my anxiety and depression without causing the terrible side effects I have experienced on other medications.

1 thought on “Mental Health and Medications”

  1. Thanks for sharing the extensive list. It’s helpful. I’ve been on Lexapro (cipralex in Canada) and I agree with you on it. My son’s on Wellbutrin because Cipralex lost its efficacy. Depression and anxiety are such tough battles. Hang in there! I like your mission in your blog…it’s nice to read like-minded posts. I’m at http://www.solaceinnerhealth.com Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

