Writing Prompt Fun #2

So I really enjoyed the characters I made in my last WPF, so I’ve decided that I would like to have a majority of my stories about Kenna and Dillon. Right now, these short stories have no specific purpose other than giving me something to do. My characters are still very unknown to ma and I hope that a I continue to write adventures for them, more about them and the world they live in will fall into place.

Today’s Prompt: “Did you get my note?”       “Of course I got it. You taped it to my forehead while I was sleeping.”


Hmmm. I guess I was more tired than I thought. I stretch, roll onto my back and stare up at the patterns created on my roof. What time is it? I sit up and turn to look at my alarm clock. 9:17 a.m. I guess I better get up. I throw off my sheets and walk towards the kitchen, but on the way there, I catch a glimpse of something stuck to my forehead in the bathroom mirror. What could that be? I turn on the bathroom lights and it takes me a moment to realize that it’s a note. I take it off, but when I go to read it, all the letters are backwards. What is going on? I turn it so that it faces the mirror, and the writing is normal again. It reads:

“Meet me at my place as soon as you wake up. ~Kenna”

When did she do that? How did she do that? I haven’t seen Kenna in two days. I get dressed, grab an apple and make my way out the door. I guess I’ll just have to ask Kenna when I see her.

I knock on her door and she unlocks it immediately. “Did you get my note?,” she says excitedly and I see that sparkle in her eyes. She is up to something.

“Of course I got it. You taped it to my forehead while I was sleeping,” I say teasingly. “Why you tapes it, I don’t know,” I pause, “And how exactly did you get into my locked apartment sometime between me falling asleep and this morning?” She hears the suspicion in my voice as I say it and she smiles as she holds up the spare key I usually keep in my glove box in case I lock myself out, again. How long has she had that key? I walk past her and head toward the kitchen.

I hear the concern in her voice as she asks, “Aren’t you going to take your key back?”.

I pour myself a bowl of cereal and she sits on one of the stools on the other side of the counter. “Nah, you will probably take better care of it than I ever have. I didn’t even know it was missing,” I mumble through a mouthful of cereal. She takes out her keys and adds my key to hers. She plops it back in her bag and turns back to me. A smile spreads across her face. I’m happy to see her smiling again, she was going through a rough patch for a while.

“I thought we could do something fun today.” I could hear in her voice how happy she is. And she is definitely excited about whatever she has planned.

“Okay, and do I get to know what these plans are?,” I inquire. She’s across the room, putting something in her old backpack.

“Nope. It’s a surprise!,” she responds.

“Does that mean you are driving? Are we taking your car? Please tell me what we are doing,” I request. I love you Kenna, but you know I don’t like surprises.

She stops fussing with her backpack. She confidently answers, “Yes, yes, and not yet. You should park your car in my spot while we are gone. You visit so often I should probably get you your own parking spot so you don’t have to park in visitor all the time.”

She goes to get her car as I get mine out of the visitor stall. She’s right, I do come visit her a lot. Then again, her apartment complex is a lot nicer than mine. I pretty much live in one big room. It’s like the dorms all over again. I pull into her spot and she rolls down her window to hand me the parking permit to put in my car. I make sure my car is locked and plop myself into her passenger seat. “Let’s get going then,” I declare as I put my seat belt on and she turns on the radio.

We spend almost two hours in the car before Kenna says we are stopping before we get to our final destination. There’s a tiny grocery store. It’s nicer than a gas station, but not a full grocery store. I get out and stretch while Kenna runs in. She comes back out with a bag full of food. As we settle back into the car, she hands me the bag. “I got you a treat for not driving me crazy about what we are doing or where we are going. I know you hate surprises, but I definitely think this will be a good surprise.” She stays quiet for a bit before she adds, “We should be there in less than 30 minutes.” She looks at me for a second, “Don’t you wanna know what your treat is?”

I watch her as she watches the road ahead of us. I reply, “We don’t have much longer to go. I can wait.” I take her spare pair of sunglasses and enjoy the rest of the ride. There aren’t many cars on the road right now, but it’s a beautiful day. I enjoy the view and before I know it, Kenna has parked the car. I get out and turn to look at her and all I can see is the ocean. I feel an amazingly stupid looking smile make its way across my face. And before I know it, she’s right beside me.

“Good surprise?,” she asks, even though she can see how happy I am.

“Great surprise. Thank you, Kenna,” I say as I turn to hug her. I love the beach, but it’s been years since I went last. We unpack the car and as our feet hit the sand, I ponder aloud, “How did you know I love the beach?”.

“You want the truth?,” she says as she turns to look at me. I nod and she continues, “I had no idea, just a feeling. You see, we have the same soul. And I know that when I come to where the land meets the sea, I feel free. It’s a kind of free that I only feel at the beach, and I wanted to share it with you, Dillon.”

“And I am very grateful that you refused to tell me what the surprise was. You are my best friend and I am so happy you are part of my life Kenna,” I say as we drop our stuff.

“Damn right you are,” she says with that sarcastic tone I had begun to miss. We set up our stuff and she throws the backpack from earlier at me. “Open it,” she demands with a laugh.

I open it and see my swim trunks. “Did you steal these from my apartment?,” I ask with concern. How long was she in my apartment?

“No. I was only in your apartment long enough to stick the note to your head.,” she says with a laugh, “You left these at my apartment last time we went swimming, because your apartment doesn’t have a pool.” That sounds vaguely familiar.

We eat and swim and just relax on the beach until the sun has set and the waves encroach on our stuff threatening to drag it all to sea. As we pack up, I can’t help but promise myself that we are going to be coming back soon.

*************************************************************************************

The next morning, I wake up and hear something crinkle when I roll over. There’s something stuck to my back. I go to the bathroom and look over my shoulder. Another note from Kenna:

“You forgot your treat. ~Kenna”

And there was a bag of gummy bears taped to me. But this time, she used duct tape.

 

 

Leave a Reply

